Ministry of Education, Government of India
 e-Mail Helpdesk : helpdesk-nat [at] gov [dot] in

National Awards to Teachers

The purpose of National Awards to Teachers is to celebrate the unique contribution of some of the finest teachers in the country and to honor those teachers who through their commitment and industry have not only improved the quality of school education but also enriched the lives of their students.

Conditions of Eligibility of Teachers

  • School teachers and Heads of Schools working in recognized primary / middle / high / higher secondary schools under the following categories:
  • Schools run by State Govt./UTs Administration, schools run by local bodies, schools aided by State Govt. and UT Administration.
  • Central Govt. Schools i.e. Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs), Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs), Sainik Schools run by Ministry of Defence (MoD), Schools run by Atomic Energy Education Society (AEES) and Eklavya Model Residential Schools (EMRS) run by Ministry of Tribal Affairs.
  • Schools affiliated to Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) (other than those at (a) and (b) above)
  • Schools affiliated to Council for Indian Schools Certificate Examination (CISCE) (Other than those at (a), (b) and (c) above)
  • Normally retired teachers are not eligible for the award but those teachers who have served a part of the calendar year (at least for four months i.e. upto 30th April in the year to which National Awards relate) may be considered if they fulfill all other conditions.
  • Educational Administrators, Inspectors of Education, and the staff of training Institutes are not eligible for these awards.
  • Teacher / Headmaster should not have indulged in tuitions.
  • Only regular Teachers and Heads of Schools will be eligible.
  • Contractual Teachers and Shiksha Mitras will not be eligible.


Procedure For Application And Selection:

  • All the applications would be received through an online web portal.
  • MOE would ensure coordination with States/UTs regarding timely entry into the portal and resolution of technical and operational issues during data entry into portal through the portal development agency.
  • MOE will bear the entire expenditure for development and maintenance of the portal.
  • In case of State/UTs, teachers and heads of schools themselves shall apply directly by filling the application form online through the web portal before the prescribed cut-off date.
  • Every applicant shall submit a portfolio, online along with the Entry Form. The portfolio shall include relevant supporting material such as documents, tools, reports of activities, field visits, photographs, audios or videos etc.
  • Undertaking by the applicant: Each applicant shall give an undertaking that all the information/data submitted is true to the best of his/her knowledge and if anything is found at any later date to be untrue then he/she will be liable to disciplinary action.

Considerations To Guide The Selection Of Techers At Various Levels:

Teachers will be evaluated based on the evaluation matrix given at Annexure-I. Evaluation matrix contains two types of criteria for evaluation:

  • Under this the teachers will be awarded marks against each of the objective criteria. These criteria are given the weightage of 20 out of 100.
  • Under this, teachers will be awarded marks on criteria based on performance e.g. initiatives to improve learning outcomes, innovative experiments undertaken, organization of extra and co-curricular activities, use of Teaching Learning Material, social mobility, ensuring experiential learning, unique ways to ensure physical education to students etc. These criteria are given the weightage of 80 out of 100.

Citations of Awardees: NAT-2022

Generic placeholder image

Mr. Amit Kumar, Teacher
Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Theog
Himachal Pradesh - 171201

Mr. Amit Kumar, a computer teacher at Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya at Theog, Shimla, of Himachal Pradesh has made science and math learning a great fun to students. Adopting a blended learning approach to put his computers education to the best use, Mr. Amit has used Free and Open Source Software (FOSS) based MOOCs to reach out to students in the same class but with different abilities to learn. By introducing Collaborative Flipped learning in the classroom to implement Communication, Critical Thinking, Creativity, Curation and Collaboration to empower students and teachers with 21st Century skills he made the science leaning an all-round experience to students.

Generic placeholder image

Ms. Anju Dahiya, Lecturer
Government Sr. Sec. School, Barwasni, Sonipat
Haryana - 131001

Ms. Anju Dahiya is an immensely talented Science (Chemistry) teacher. She has designed innovative methods for kindling the curiosity of students so that knowledge is not only disseminated but created as well. The science congresses, conclaves, quizzes have been effectively employed. In order to develop personalities of the students in a holistic manner, she has initiated many activities such as mountaineering, planting of trees and the use of QR codes for getting detailed information needed. Ms. Anju took the help of NGOs and philanthropists for updating the infrastructure of the school.

Generic placeholder image

Mr. Aravindaraja D, Teacher
Artchouna Soupraya Naikar GHS Mudaliarpet
Puducherry - 605004

Mr. Aravindaraja D. is model for what can be achieved with hard work and commitment. He has put his small school on the international map by the innovative programmes. The bubble show, creation of the science corner to stimulate curiosity, the eco club, use of Foldscope project microscopy, establishing photography centre are all noteworthy. Special mention must be made about the students who won International Astronomical Union award from among 128 countries, Honorary Mention award in Worldwide Crystal growing competition, winning prizes in Make Science International competition at Paris, receiving recognition certificate from Vigyan Prasar, Government of India.


This site is designed, hosted and maintained by National Informatics Centre (NIC),
Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Government of India.